December 20, 2017

Assumptions and Limitations ... we assume the results reported to us or into trackwrestling are accurate.  Obviously, there are teams and individuals that compete and we do not have their information ... this is a significant limitation to the rankings and should be considered. Just an note: wrestlers that compete against "higher level" competition get "weighted" more than those that do not.  Meaning - a wrestler goes unbeaten at 13-0, but has only wrestled the same 6 wrestlers in a small area of the state will get less consideration than a wrestler that is 8-5, but has 5 losses in top tournaments across the state or Southeast. Please remember that these are one person's opinion regarding the order of wrestlers at each weight class ...  

Also note that several placers and qualifiers from last year are missing from the rankings ... if a wrestler has not wrestled yet in 2016-2017, they have been left off the rankings.  

Team Ranking Methodology

Alabama Class 7A Rankings

Traditional Team top 8 *UPDATED 12.21.16 to reflect a correction in individual rankings

  1. Vestavia 117
  2. Central-Phenix City 87
  3. Hoover 79
  4. Thompson 79
  5. Oak Mountain 78
  6. Hewitt-Trussville 70
  7. Huntsville 66
  8. Prattville 39

Others include: Bob Jones, Grissom, Auburn, Sparkman, and Mountain Brook


  1. Sam Latona (Thompson)
  2. Studd Morris (Central-Phenix City)
  3. Jack Rivers (Spain Park)
  4. Nick Smith (Hoover)
  5. Zaevian Toney (Bob Jones)
  6. John Pankey (Mountain Brook)

Honorable Mention: Dailan Green (Jeff Davis), Levi Fouts (Smiths Station), Stoney Childers (Buckhorn), and Jacob Porter (Huntsville).


  1. Kobe Frazier (Jeff Davis)
  2. Chandler Akins (Thompson)
  3. Tyler Ivey (Grissom)
  4. Cole Thomas (Oak Mountain)
  5. Agustin Gonzalez (Tuscaloosa County)
  6. Kevin McGhaw (Bob Jones)

Honorable Mention: Riley Huff (Hoover), Bryant Segars (Vestavia), Kedrick Hamilton (RE Lee), and Cordell Ellison (Sparkman).


  1. Alex Thomas (Vestavia)
  2. Stone Barden (Hewitt-Trussville)
  3. Samuel Jaggears (Gadsden City)
  4. Mark Hurt (Central-Phenix City)
  5. Emmanuel Oliver (Thompson)
  6. Zaderian Toney (Bob Jones)

Honorable Mention: Alex Mason (Hoover), Joseph Shaw (Tuscaloosa City), Matthew Foshee (Auburn), and Brandon Catlin (Foley).  Seth Gatlin (Thompson), Chandler Merrill (Vestavia), Keelan Gibb (Hewitt-Trussville) could find their way into the rankings if the wrestler in front of them moves a weight (or they beat out the varsity wrestler).


  1. Gabe Hixenbaugh (Thompson)
  2. Maxwell Kauffman (Central-Phenix City)
  3. Gage Camp (Hoover)
  4. Tyler Wilson (Smiths Station)
  5. Caleb Hodges (Tuscaloosa County)
  6. Cale Land (Hewitt-Trussville)

Honorable Mention: RL England (Mountain Brook), Gaven Pudlik (Spain Park), Parker Snyder (Bob Jones), Warren Hoyt (Grissom), and Don Forrester (Foley).


  1. Heath Williamson (Hewitt-Trussville)
  2. Blake Randle (Oak Mountain)
  3. Jawaun Doughty (Huntsville)
  4. Johnnie Swinnie (Central-Phenix City)
  5. Murphy McCallum (Vestavia)
  6. Spencer Davis (James Clemens)

Honorable Mention: Gary Baltz (Mountain Brook), Marcus Boler (Auburn), Nathan Roberts (Thompson), and Braden Treglown (Hewitt-Trussville).


  1. Patterson Huff (Hoover)
  2. Carson Lester (Oak Mountain)
  3. Daishun Mitchell (Bob Jones)
  4. Reagan Land (Hewitt-Trussville)
  5. Dillon Lutrell (Smiths Station)
  6. Frank Brown (Mountain Brook)

Honorable Mention: Cole Stewart (Auburn), Chris Villarreal (Huntsville), and Fredrick Foster (Jeff Davis).


  1. Conner Smith (Hewitt-Trussville)
  2. Jacob Megois (Thompson)
  3. Brett Cruce (Oak Mountain)
  4. Jonathan Hardy (Grissom)
  5. Corwin Russell (Hoover)
  6. Kristian Scott (Central-Phenix City)

Honorable Mention: Robert Friedenreich (Auburn), Cole Williams (Huntsville), Larry Wallace (Hoover), and Malik Reaker (RE Lee).


  1. Robert Morales (Central-Phenix City)
  2. Jack Stoves (Vestavia)
  3. Perez Pickett (Prattville)
  4. Houston Curtis (Huntsville)
  5. Dylan Pearson (Auburn)
  6. Mingyu Lee (Oak Mountain)

Honorable Mention: Cole Holmes (Mountain Brook), Derek Hussey or Calvin Pickens (THompson), Cameron Harbin (Sparkman), Kaleb Fontenot (Smiths Station) and Spencer Haddock or Peter Dazzio (Vestavia).


  1. Barrett Blakely (Oak Mountain)
  2. Bowman Hill (Vestavia)
  3. Charlie Freidenreich (Auburn)
  4. Robert Oliver (Mountain Brook)
  5. Jeffrey Mooney (Prattville)
  6. Michael Nitti (Huntsville)

Honorable Mention: Ryan Donnelly (Smiths Station), Gabriel Pittman (Bob Jones), and Jacob Dougherty (Grissom).


  1. Randy Jenkins (Hoover)
  2. Robert Randolph (Mountain Brook)
  3. Jalen McWhite (Central-Phenix City)
  4. Zachary Nelson (Vestavia)
  5. George Francovitch (Bob Jones)
  6. Justin Evans (Oak Mountain)

Honorable Mention: Nickolas Derdoski (Smiths Station), James Gomer (Prattville), Jaquarius Milner (RE Lee), Lyons Shaffer or Braedon Keith (Hewitt-Trussville), and Jordan Thompson (Buckhorn).


  1. Brooks Schrimsher (Huntsville)
  2. Zack Noble (Prattville)
  3. Nicholas Biggs (Grissom)
  4. Rob Barrentine (Vestavia)
  5. Jadarius Johnson (Central-Phenix City)
  6. Nick Mothersele (Bob Jones)

Honorable Mention: Gibbs Sherrell (Fairhope), Will Pittman (Mountain Brook), and Jimmy Travis (Buckhorn).


  1. Jaeger Clark (Huntsville)
  2. Seth Bruder (James Clemens)
  3. D'Angelo Dewitt (Hoover)
  4. Austin Phillips (Smiths Station)
  5. Manny Allan (Spain Park)
  6. D'Anthony McFarland (Tuscloosa County)

Honorable Mention: Trey El (RE Lee), Stavros Pappas (Mountain Brook), Hayden Haynes (Vestavia), Harold Gilmore (Bob Jones), and Grant Howard (Hewitt-Trussville).


  1. James Edwards (Vestavia)
  2. Braden Moore (Sparkman)
  3. Seth Dupree (Bob Jones)
  4. Deondrae Williams (Smiths Station)
  5. Jack Detombe (Foley)
  6. Jaxon Best (Spain Park)

Honorable Mention: Hayden McDonald (Mountain Brook), Le'Frederick Walker or Kris Pecoraro (RE Lee), and Jordan Davis (Oak Mountain).


  1. Jacob Edwards (Vestavia)
  2. Drimitri Anderson (Auburn)
  3. Zackary Cangelosi (Sparkman)
  4. Connor Knight (Prattville)
  5. Cameron Young (Spain Park)
  6. Michael Tomaso (Fairhope)

Honorable Mention: Barrett Striplin (Vestavia) - if Edwards is out; Seth Whitlock (Thompson), Matt Burrow (James Clemens), Jacob Purcell (Smiths Station), and David Adams (Sparkman) - if Cangelosi os out.