Georgia 6A Area 1 Season Preview

Team Race: 6A Area 1 should be very competitive between the five teams.  With the graduation of State Placers Davis Ison and Carl Jackson, Lowndes may struggle to hold off Lee County and the others in 2015-2016.  With the return of three State Placers, Lee County is probably the team to beat this season.  If Jonah Anderson, Eric Hunter, and Matt Littleton can find the podium, Lee County could make a push for a top 5/top 8 finish in the Traditional State Tournament.  The battle between Tift County, Valdosta, and Colquitt County should be fun to watch.  Tift County has to be considered the #1a or #2 in Area 1 with Quen Campbell and four state Qualifiers returning.  Each of the five teams could punch their ticket to Macon for the Dual State Tournament.

Contenders: Four Area 1 wrestlers, who return in 2015-2016, finished the 2014-2015 season on the podium in Macon.  Tift County’s Quen Campbell (3rd at 132) appears to have the best shot at standing on top of the podium in 2016.  Lee County’s Slater Cruz (5th at 132), Aaron Maxfield (5th at 106), and Collins Tensley (5th at 220) also have an excellent shot to take home the individual title in 2016.  All four should be wrestling on Saturday evening with the title on the line. 

Hunting the Podium: Twelve 2015 State Qualifiers return in 2015-2016 and each will be looking to land a spot on the podium in 2016.  Each has a great shot of earning a medal, having been to Macon in 2015, but given their 2015 performance, it appears Lee County’s Jonah Anderson and Eric Hunter, Valdosta’s Justin Sermons, Brandon Wright, and Miles Parramore, Lowndes’ Blake Hedgecock, and Tift County’s Jake Pratt and Dalton Burks are the most likely to be on the podium.  Keep an eye on Colquitt County’s Enrique Aguilar, Lee County’s Matt Littleton, Lowndes’ Parker Metcalf and Justin Meyers, and Tift County’s Cole Dillard.  Each struggled at the 2015 State Tournament, but expect that to change in 2016.

Under the Radar: Keep an eye on the following wrestlers: Colquitt County’s Jordan Rosales, Hayden Suggs, and Nic Jarvis, Lee County’s Sylvester Jackson, Lowndes’ Keith Almond and Anthony Cilio, Tift County’s Rayder Schemmel, Valdosta’s Tray Walton and Cameron Warren.

Team Capsules:

NOTE: Fred Jones (2nd, 113, Sr.) - meaning 2nd last season at the Traditional State Tournament at 113 lbs.  Is a Senior in 2015-2016.